land acknowledgement

Treaty 6 and Métis Nation Region 4 Acknowledgements

The Blue Quill Community League acknowledges that we are located on traditional lands, referred to as Treaty 6 Territory, and that we and all the people here are beneficiaries of this peace and friendship treaty.  We also acknowledge our location as being within the traditional homeland of the Métis Nation.

We firmly commit to moving forward in partnership with indigenous communities in a spirit of reconciliation, collaboration, unity and harmony.

Treaty 6

Treaty 6 is an agreement between the Canadian monarch and the Plains and Woods Cree, Assiniboine, and other band governments of First Nations at Fort Carlton, Fort Pitt, and Battle River. The area agreed upon by the Plains and Woods Cree represents most of the central area of the current provinces of Saskatchewan and Alberta.  Treaty 6 signings began in August 1876, with adhesions added in 1898 in central Saskatchewan in the Montreal Lake area. 

  • For more information about Treaty 6, click here and here
  • For more information about the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation, click here

Metis Nation Region 4

Since its inception in 1928, the MNA is the Métis Government for Métis Albertans with its geographical and legal boundaries being the province of Alberta.  The MNA is governed by a provincial council, comprised of a provincial president and vice-president, and six (6) regional presidents and vice-presidents, all democratically elected.

  • For more information about the Métis Nation of Alberta, click here